Washington D.C. – U.S. Representatives Ted Budd (R-NC) and Ron DeSantis (R-FL) released the following statements regarding their opposition to lifting the earmark ban and their letter to House leadership:

“For too long in Washington politics, earmarks were a way to sweeten a bill in an effort to gain the vote of a specific member. The cost to American taxpayers became astronomical. Earmarks, or ‘pork barrel spending’ became the most hated way to do business in Washington--billions of dollars in taxpayer funds were wasted in the process,” Rep. Budd stated. “Thankfully, in 2011, the practice was banned. Recently, there has been an effort in the House to lift this ban—a move I strongly disagree with. Today, Rep. DeSantis and I sent a letter to House leadership imploring them to not lift the earmark ban.”

“It is ridiculous that House leadership is considering lifting the ban on earmarks, which will only serve to encourage wasteful spending on pet projects that prioritize corruption and skyrocket our debt. If a vote is held by the House Republican Conference to repeal the ban, the vote should be public and on-the-record, so that the American people know who is draining the swamp and who is feeding the swamp creatures at the expense of taxpayers,” Rep. DeSantis said.

Additional signatures to the letter include Reps. Jim Jordan (R-OH), Walter Jones (R-NC), Mark Sanford (R-SC), Leonard Lance (R-NJ), Tom McClintock (R-CA), Bill Posey (R-FL), Justin Amash (R-MI), Paul Gosar (R-AZ), Andy Harris (R-MD), Raul Labrador (R-ID), Todd Rokita (R-IN), David Schweikert (R-AZ), Mark Meadows (R-NC), Luke Messer (R-IN), Scott Perry (R-PA), Roger Williams (R-TX), Ted Yoho (R-FL), Dave Brat (R-VA), Rod Blum (R-IA), Ken Buck (R-CO), Jody Hice (R-GA), Alex Mooney (R-WV), John Ratcliffe (R-TX), Mark Walker (R-NC), Warren Davidson (R-OH), James Comer (R-KY), Jim Banks (R-IN), Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Jason Lewis (R-MN), Ron Estes (R-KS), Greg Gianforte (R-MT), Ralph Norman (R-SC).